Lunar Organizations

This post is simply going to be a list of organizations whose purpose is to study Luna or to return there. For-profit companies will have their own list. I’ll add organizations as I find them. Let me know if there is one I should add.


Organizations I support
  • The Moon Society (www.moonsociety.org) – Currently I’m a member and the Membership Coordinator. We’re a small group with big ideas. And we could use your enthusiasm. I also wrote a post a long time ago.
  • Moon Village Association (moonvillageassociation.org/) – An international effort to figure out how to construct a Lunar settlement.
  • Lunar Exploration Analysis Group (www.lpi.usra.edu/leag) – LEAG assists NASA in it’s Lunar exploration objectives. I joined because it’s free but I don’t know how involved LH will be with them.

 


Still active

 


Government organizations
USA

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) (www.nasa.gov/)

 

Europe

European Space Agency (www.esa.int/ESA)

  • Lunar Exploration (https://lunarexploration.esa.int/#/intro) – Lots of great information!

 

Russia

Roscosmos (en.roscosmos.ru/)

 

China

China National Space Administration (http://www.cnsa.gov.cn/) – Responsible for space policy. The link is for the English version of their website.

China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (english.spacechina.com/n16421/index.html) – Responsible for executing state policy. State-owned and main contractor for Chinese space operations.

Japan

Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (global.jaxa.jp/)

 

India

Indian Space Research Organization (www.isro.gov.in/)

 


Seems inactive
  • The American Lunar Society (www.amlunsoc.org) – I wrote a small post a while ago on ALS.
  • Artemis Project (www.asi.org) – This was the “ancestor” of the Moon Society.
  • Moon Base Clavius (www.clavius.org) – A site dedicated to debunking the Moon landing conspiracies.
  • Free Luna (freeluna.blogspot.com/) – An old blog on Lunar colonization.
  • Lunar Domes Atlas GLR group – (lunardomeatlas.blogspot.com/) – An inactive blog with some great pictures.
  • Lunar Mission One (lunarmissionone.com/) – Archived January 2019. It’s unclear what they are doing now.
  • The Luna Project (www.lunarcc.org/)
  • Lunar Reclamation Society (lunar-reclamation.moonsociety.org)
  • The Lunar Resource Company (bad link)
  • Lunar X-Prize (lunar.xprize.org/) – Great idea but the contest ended before any contestant could win. Now it’s looking for an new sponsor.
  • The Moon Blog (themoonblog.com/) – Seems inactive but worth a look.
  • Moon Zoo (www.moonzoo.org/) – Moon Zoo was a project to study the lunar surface in unprecedented detail, by asking volunteers to identify craters and boulders in millions of images from NASA’s Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO).
  • Open Luna (openluna.org/) – I guess they were going to create their own Lunar settlement.
  • Space Future (www.spacefuture.com/) – Another dead site.
  • Trans Lunar Research (www.translunar.org) –
  • WayPaver Foundation (waypaverfoundation.org) – I also wrote a small post on WayPaver.

 

 

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *